Millions of Peaches

Okay, fine, dozens of peaches, but given this is my first peach harvest and–with all the concern I’ve had over the trees–I wasn’t sure I’d get any edible fruit, this sure feels like millions…

Untitled

(Also, some songs from my youth will literally never leave my brain… that’s one of them. Which is very, very unfortunate.)

My first taste…

Untitled

They’re small but sweet, and the spots on the skin don’t affect taste (they just make them a bit harder to peel.) I picked a couple dozen before I realized that I had no idea what to do with a couple dozen peaches. But, the nice thing about having fresh-picked fruit straight from your property is that it’s really difficult to come up with something that won’t be delicious.

Here’s what I came up with:

Untitled

Peach crisp. (I like a crisp top better than a cobbler, personally.) I followed this recipe, but subbed honey for some of the brown sugar in the topping (because, bees.)

And, speaking of honey…

Untitled

This is the first stage of the honey-vanilla peach jam I made a very small batch of. (Recipe from the website Food in Jars.)

Untitled

It’s super simple recipe with just peaches, honey, vanilla bean, and a little lemon zest. Since I’m about a week away from honey harvest again I especially love these honey-sweetened recipes.

I plan to continue harvesting the rest of the peaches over the next week or so, and I’m hoping to freeze a couple of pounds to use in mead-making later this year.

I have to say, there’s been a lot of work involved in planting and maintaining the orchard, but it all seems worth it when I get to walk out to the back of my property, pick some peaches, and turn them into something delicious!

from Bathroom & Home http://diydiva.net/2016/08/millions-of-peaches/

Leave a Reply

